There are many great reasons to visit the delightful historic village of Culross on the River Forth. The village has a long history with a busy coal mining and salt industry during the 16th and 17th century.
King James VI visited this mine shaft in 1595 which was on a tidal island in the middle of the River Forth. He was rather shocked at the one mile depth of the shaft beneath the sea.
Culross Palace has been extensively restored and although it was never a royal residence it is a unique example of a house belonging to a wealthy merchant of the early 17th century. A pathway known as Stinking Wynd leads uphill along a cobbled way, where the centre is slightly higher and poorer people had to walk in the gutters.
The Town House was built in 1626 with the clock tower added 150 years later. This amazing building now houses a photographic exhibition of many of the iconic places and scenes of Scotland and is well worth a visit. A delightful café nearby is the perfect place to relax and plan the next stage of your tour.
Today many people visit Culross to see first hand some of the settings for the series of Outlander books and film. Behind the Culross Palace lies the setting for the herb garden at the fictional Castle Leoch. The town also lends its backdrop to the Outlander Jacobite encampment scenes.
Drummond Gardens near Crieff can be reached within a short drive. These beautiful formal gardens are one of the best in Europe. Locals were delighted when they stood in for the Palace of Versailles in the second series of Outlander.